5 Things I’ve Learnt From My First Week Blogging.

So I have now completed a full week of blogging and it set me reflecting on the whole, crazy process. Obviously I am still very much a newbie with MUCH to learn, but i’d like to share what I’ve learnt in this very early stage. Some may not agree with what I have said, but it’s my own personal take after just a week…

1. The Parent Blogging Community is AWESOME!

I have been overwhelmed by the amount of support from other bloggers. I have had lots of social media follows and retweets that have helped expand my content to a much wider audience than I could ever hope to reach on my own. They are also a very friendly bunch who reply to comments and are always more than kind. It’s just a plain lovely community to be a part of!

2. There Is Loads of Help and Information Available To Get You Started.

Following on from my last point, a lot of the more established bloggers have passed their knowledge and wisdom on to help the next generation of bloggers on their journey. I have been able to find a great wealth of information, tips and advice about how to get started, what and what not to do and how to go about getting my blog off the starting line. So thank you all for passing on your helpful tips and advice.

3. Social Media is Key!

I had read about the significance of social media while researching how to get started on my blog, and I have definitely found that the origin of most of my hits so far have come from my Instagram account @theseasonalchild and my Twitter account @seasonalchild. So the importance of social networking is definitely not to be underestimated.

4. It’s a Very Competitive Field.

When I say this I don’t mean that bloggers are competitive with one another (see point 1!) but that there are just so many parenting blogs out there. Literally thousands! I was shocked to find how many other mums and dads have the same idea! I suppose the point is that to avoid drowning in an over diluted crowd, it’s important to find your niche. What can your blog offer that others don’t?

5. It’s a Fantastic Way to Unwind!

I suppose the final point and probably most important, is that I really, genuinely enjoy doing it. I find it a fantastic way to reflect on our day and writing things down helps to unload your mind. I love reading other’s blogs and find them inspirational and thought provoking. So far, it’s a really enjoyable hobby, which may, one day develop into something more.

So, the bottom line is…bring on week 2!!

Do you agree with my views, or do you think my opinions will change over the coming weeks and months?

You Baby Me Mummy
3 thoughts on “5 Things I’ve Learnt From My First Week Blogging.

Leave a Reply

