Watch the Sunset – Tick!

“Every sunset holds the promise of a new dawn.” Ralph Waldo Emerson.

I love this quote. It’s so true, the sunset represents the end of a day, a day that no matter how bad or good will never come again. It also reminds us that whatever happens, the sun will rise again the next day with a new day. The sunset is the full stop on the day if you will, and the sunrise the capital letter on the next.

This is why I decided to add ‘watch the sunset’ to our bucket list. It’s easy to get caught up in the rat race of life, never really thinking from one day to the next, the days blurring into one another until before you know it, another year has passed and you’re not really sure how. Particularly this year, with Banana starting school in September, it really makes you wonder where the time has gone…5 minutes ago I was holding my first child in my arms for the first time, in awe of her tiny features and perfection, and now, she’s 4 and a half years old, independent and ready to start school. It feels like I’ve blinked and 4.5 years have passed.

I really wanted to take in the passing of each day, take time to reflect and be thankful for the day that has just passed and make plans and dreams for the days to come. We have been lucky enough to be able to watch a few sunsets and sunrises this summer, and taking this time last to reflect is something I’d recommend to anyone.

We saw the sunset over the beach at New Quay. This was the last day of our holiday, so it held extra meaning.

image

We also caught the sun beginning to set on our recent evening walk around a local lake:

image

A few mornings this summer I have been woken up ‘too’ early by  my girls and have felt grumpy and cross. Nothing changes your mood quicker than a beautiful sunrise over your garden fence. My mood soon changed from grumpiness to gratitude on both occasions. I am thankful for early wake ups because they represent another day, which of course one day I won’t have. It also reminds me to be thankful to have children to wake me up early in the mornings. Some people never get such a blessing.

imageimage

Truly beautful and humbling, and something I feel I’ve taken a lot from.

Have you had the chance to watch the sun set or rise this summer?

You can see the rest of our Summer Bucket List HERE

Mummascribbles</div

Monkey and Mouse

6 thoughts on “Watch the Sunset – Tick!

  1. Kerry says:

    Really lovely post. I’ve always had a special fondness for sunsets, i’m not sure how much a 2 year old would appreciate one though! I will have to wait until she’s a bit older! #twinklytuesday

    Liked by 1 person

  2. reimerandruby says:

    What a lovely post! So so true, we are sometimes too occupied dealing with our hectic lives that we forget to appreciate every passing day. I have seen a few sunrise and sunsets when we went on our Scottish highlands adventure, it’s a beautiful feeling seeing the sun shine and set. #Whatevertheweather

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

