Forage/ Pick Seasonal Fruit (Part 1) – Tick!

As Banana has now started school, our bucket list ticks are going to become a weekly thing. This is because it wouldn’t feel right ticking things off our list without her, so we’ll be saving our activities for the weekends. This is part of the reason why our Autumn Bucket List ย is quiteย a lot shorter than our Summer Bucket List . (Don’t worry I have some ideas in the making for Duckling during the week)

This weekend, we had some glorious September sunshine, so we decided to make the most of it and forage some Hazelnuts. My mum knew of a place with loads of Hazel Trees, so off we headed with my girls and nephew in tow. Just look how beautiful a day it was…!

14233082_10153732753577001_4317166413590234668_n

We found the Hazel Trees and got to work, and the first thing I discovered is that the trees are masters at camouflage, and hide their fruit really well beneath their broad leaves. At first I was useless at finding them and had to rely on my mum and the kids to begin filling the bag.

14322646_10153732753807001_3769304495095421117_n

After a while, I got accustomed to what we were looking for and was eventually able to contribute to the bounty! Hazelnuts are great things to forage for young children because their branches and leaves grow quite close to the ground, so smaller children are able to reach. Many of the nuts had fallen onto the ground and because of their hard shell, are perfectly fine to gather too.

We spent a good 45 minutes picking and gathering Hazelnuts and the children gathered lots of knowledge about where our food comes from as well as safety around what we can pick and eat. (Namely, only if an adult has said its ok!) We gathered quite a bounty of nuts that we will dry, ready to get the nutcracker out at Christmas time. 14238339_10153732753802001_7568254955829866509_n

It was also a good opportunity to search for creepy crawlies and we found plenty of tree snails, butterflies and a ladybird, which Banana loved.

14317373_10153732753582001_1846941808299774417_n

A really, lovely day of educational family fun. I’ll update you on my nuts later in the year (!)

Do you know of any other fruits/ veg/ nuts that can be foraged in the UK at this time of year? I’m always looking for new suggestions!

 

 

Monkey and Mouse

Country Kids from Coombe Mill Family Farm Holidays Cornwall

19 thoughts on “Forage/ Pick Seasonal Fruit (Part 1) – Tick!

  1. Cheryl TimeToCraft (@CherylInTheUK) says:

    We have several hazel trees in the garden. The squirrels love them, so we leave them all to them. Might try putting a few aside, but they never seem big enough. I’m sure you are picking blackberries. Sloes are ripe in our area, and elderberries. Not long until crab apples are ready. Happy foraging. #CountryKids

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Coombe Mill says:

    I don’t know why I’ve not thought to look for hazelnuts but looking at your photos I think we may have some here on the farm. Foraging is a great outdoor activity and the woodlands are full at this time of year. The blackberries have been amazing and the elder flower are out now too. Mushrooms are around int he long grass and making slow gin has always appealed too. I think the chestnuts will be soon and apples in our orchard. I’ll look forward to seeing your hazelnuts when they are ready for eating.

    Thank you for sharing with me on #CountryKids

    Liked by 1 person

    • theseasonalchild says:

      This is the first year we have picked Hazelnuts and I can’t stop noticing Hazel trees everywhere we go now! I am always wary of mushrooms, because I don’t know enough about them, but I have seen plenty of elderflowers and we are definitely heading to an orchard in the coming weeks ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. chocolateandwineandillbefine says:

    I do love this post, and for the fact that you taught me that the things we were picking in the park last week were hazelnuts! Now I have been looking for them everywhere! We love blackberry picking at this time of year and I really want to go apple picking for the first time (though I am struggling to fit it in at the moment)! #countrykids

    Liked by 1 person

  4. tracey at Mummyshire says:

    What a good idea to have an autumn bucket list. Like you, now that mine are at school it just wouldn’t be the same doing things whilst they’re at school. I didn’t know you could forage hazelnuts in the UK. That’s something I’ve learnt.
    There is lots of wild garlic around us, as well as blackberries along the hedgerows on the way to school (always a distraction!)
    #CountryKids

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

