Muddy Mondays #1 – Painting with Mud

image

So, now that Banana has started school and Duckling and I have a bit more free time in the week, I have decided to start a new blog feature…Muddy Mondays. This will be a weekly feature that goes out on a Monday (in case you hadn’t sussed that already)and will involve me and Duckling exploring the outdoors in as many different ways as possible. It won’t always be muddy, (but you’ve got to love a bit of alliteration, right?!) but it will always involve the outdoors and nature, which at this time of year, often ends up involving mud in some way or another! I may even turn it into a linky, in the future, if it gets enough (any!) interest.

So, without further ado, here is our first Muddy Monday…and it is a muddy one! We have been painting with mud!

First I created a lovely, oozy mud mixture by simply mixing soil from the garden with some water, and put it into one of the water table pots. I put a piece of A2 paper on the closed water table lid, and found a suitable sized stick to use as a paintbrush. I also put Duckling in some old clothes and had a bucket of clean soapy water, and a dry towel ready. I did mostย  of the preparation while Duckling had her morning nap, so it was all set up as an invitation toย play,ย and ready for after lunch.

Once we got outside, I showed her what I’d set up and she was sold! She happily played; mark making and dripping the mud onto the paper.

14317600_10153738066722001_1197020588449755865_n14322703_10153738066717001_8277729713834916107_n

After doing this for a while, she went across and tried to paint the Hydrangeas with mud too, which gave me inspiration for the next thing, which was to use one of the flowers to make mud flower prints. Again, I modelled this to her and then she happily copied and made a beautiful, messy mud painting!

14368899_10153738066732001_2930979607512957655_n14316744_10153738066712001_2800985249642216799_n

She even picked some blackberries from the garden and smooshed these into her picture too. It really was fabulous fun and made a really effective piece of toddler art.

Once, she’d finished, she enjoyed washing her hands in the bucket of soapy, water and this too became a game. We had a wonderful time, and finished just in time for a thunderstorm to come and wash away all the mess! Bonus!

14322192_10153738066727001_7553377932211987069_n

Do you have any other ideas for outdoor toddler play? We have quite a few, but always looking for new ideas! You can link up using #MuddyMondays on Twitter or Instagram too ๐Ÿ™‚

Mummascribbles</div

Monkey and Mouse

Country Kids from Coombe Mill Family Farm Holidays Cornwall

15 thoughts on “Muddy Mondays #1 – Painting with Mud

  1. alifeinpracticeblog.com says:

    Oh gosh, I remember my mum letting me play in our garden when I was about 6 or 7, we built huge mud pies and were caked with the stuff from head to toe, it’s one of my favourite memories from that time in my life ๐Ÿ™‚ Kudos for the idea, you’ve just inspired me to pack old clothes for our trip to my mums next week so we can take the boys outside and get messy ๐Ÿ™‚ #stayclassmama

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TheHelpfulHiker says:

    Looks like lots of fun. I’m a big fan of messy play in the garden, I definitely need to give this a go, although not sure Finn will like it-he’s not a fan of getting messy! I’m going to have to change that ๐Ÿ™‚ #whatevertheweather

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Coombe Mill says:

    This post is the definition of Country Kids! Getting outdoors and exploring nature in as many ways as possible. We have done flower and leaf painting here on the farm but with blackberry juice or paints. Mud next time I think, it looks like you had a great time, definitely one for outdoors only!

    Thank you for linking up and joining in with #CountryKids I look forward to seeing more of your Muddy Monday posts here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • theseasonalchild says:

      This is something I’ve wanted to do for such a long time! We are currently in the process of making our garden a little more child friendly, and this is definitely something that i’ll be including. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

