Muddy Monday #8 – Play in the Rain – Tick!

image

“There is no such thing as bad weather, only inappropriate clothing” I love this quote, although I can’t actually remember who said it…I just think it’s spot on. It is so tempting to stay cooped up indoors during these cold, wet months…but the UK winter lasts a loooong time (or at least it seems) and kids (and adults) need fresh air and space to run free. Don’t get me wrong, I love snuggling up in the warm as much as the next person, but there is something extra cosy about snuggling up at home when you’ve been outdoors in the cold and wet for a few hours. The contrast makes it unbeatable!

14102364_10153711923722001_833480647430039532_n.jpg

With this in mind, I still try to get my girls outside as much as possible from November to February, we just wrap up extra warm and wear waterproofs where necessary. I brought my girls these fantastic puddlesuits which cover their whole bodies meaning that we’ve been able to play in the woods in the rain:

We’ve been able to play at the playground and use the play equipment:

We love being out and about, even when its wet. There is so much fun to be had in the rain, and everywhere is just a little quieter:

Of course, one of the best things to do is embrace the rain and have the time of your life splashing in puddles!

Even a wet and miserable school run can be fun with the correct clothing and equipment!

15181321_10153908459667001_890843313503391919_n

If you’re lucky, you might even catch a rainbow…

14650687_10153819102987001_284736744056998896_n.jpg

We have had so much fun playing in the rain this autumn! You can see the rest of our autumn bucket list HERE.

Do you/ your kids like to play out in the rain? What are your favourite things to do on a wet and windy day?

Mummascribbles</div

Run Jump Scrap!
Admissions Of A Working Mother
21 thoughts on “Muddy Monday #8 – Play in the Rain – Tick!

  1. Laura Boccaleone says:

    I love to take my little boy out in autumn and winter. There is so much to do, and the colours are beautiful! My boy loves puddles, but which child doesn’t? and he likes to collect leaves. We venture out into the woods with a small plastic trolley, and he’s not satisfied until the trolley is full of colourful leaves. Once back home, he likes to put them in order by colours, and stick the on big sheets of paper with some glue.
    Good luck with your bucket list πŸ™‚ Laura XX

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kaylin from Imperfect Disciples says:

    I’m sure my boys would love to play out in the rain. It’s me that has to change my attitude about the weather! haha. It looks like your girls had a great time, and it’s stories like these that tickle my mind and make me think I need to start taking my boys outdoors more- even if the weather isn’t as nice. πŸ˜‰ Kaylin #TwinklyTuesday

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ModernMom says:

    I love the puddle suits! My 5 year old loves both bumblebees and ladybugs. She also loves playing in the rain. My 8 year old never had the same enthusiasm for jumping in puddles – but she does the snow! It’s great to get the kids outside, even on the not-so-nice days. Great photos!
    #StayClassyMama

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Emma - Hip2trek says:

    I love your colourful puddle suits, you look to have had lots of fun. I totally agree that we all need to get outside and enjoy the fresh air. Today my kids have been puddle jumping to crack the ice – carefully I must add! #CountryKids

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Coombe Mill says:

    This is why I created Country Kids all those years ago: to encourage us to get outdoors in all weather. I know it is harder in the winter months but it always makes us feel so much better and with washing machines and tumble driers things can soon be cleaned up again. My kids drive me up the walls indoors, especially after school when they have had “indoor play” due to the weather. I have to get them out for half an hour or I think they would destroy the house running around! Good clothing makes such a difference, especially if you are going any distance from the house, it certainly makes play equipment much more pleasant. I hope you continue to find plenty of time to get out with those fab puddle suits this winter.

    Thank you for sharing with me on #CountryKids

    Liked by 1 person

  6. twotinyhands says:

    I totally agree with that quote and that we should go outside whatever the weather! Wrap up warm and waterproofs in sorted. My son hasn’t started jumping in puddles yet as he’s only just started walking but I can’t wait to teach him!! #countrykids

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jenni - Odd Socks and Lollipops says:

    Oh there isn’t anything better than splashing in puddles, Boo always asks if it’s raining and if she can wear her wellies – it;s her favourite weathers. She found an iced over puddle today and it was the best thing ever! hehe #CountryKids

    Liked by 1 person

  8. pottyadventures says:

    Oh I couldn’t agree more. We love getting outside whatever the weather and, like you say, as long as you have good gear you have a great time. We’ve just reviewed a great all-in-one they make a real difference, particularly for our youngest.
    David – Potty Adventures
    #countrykids

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

