Do a Book Advent Calendar – Tick!

As Banana is now four (and because I am slightly addicted to buying children’s books) I decided this year, that I’d create a book advent calendar. This basically involves wrapping 24 Christmas themed books, numbering them and then opening a new one each evening for our bedtime story. It’s something I’ve been wanting to do for years, but never really felt that my kids were old enough to appreciate it fully. However, this year Banana has really proven herself to be quite the little bookworm, so I thought it was time to try it out.

Unfortunately, Thankfully, we already had 13 Christmas themed books from previous years put away in the Christmas box, so I didn’t have to fork out for 24 brand new books, only 11. This really doesn’t have to cost the earth. The Works are offering 10 books for £10 online, and they had plenty of Festive Titles available, so that was us pretty much sorted. You could also scour charity shops for lovely books that need a new home. 15094236_10153911068507001_4946174093773965804_n15094244_10153908662027001_4306973449604669282_n15241773_10153922767217001_2191184854052148540_n

I must admit that it was a bit tedious wrapping and numbering them all, but my girls were so happy when I revealed this to them on December 1st and Banana has really looked forward to opening a book each evening, so that makes it all worthwhile. Silly me forgot to write a list of books and authors before I wrapped them, but you can probably make out most of the books we have chosen from the pictures above. We are now on December 8th and I can see this becoming a Christmas tradition, although in future years I will probably just replace one or two books when my girls grow out of them. Definitely worth doing, especially if you, like us are a book loving family!

You can check out the rest of our Christmas Bucket List HERE

Mummuddlingthrough
5 thoughts on “Do a Book Advent Calendar – Tick!

  1. mummuddlingthrough says:

    Ok, every year I swear I’m going to do this! I have concluded the only way it’s going to happen is if I wrap the books up before I put them away with the decs? What do you reckon? It’s a gorgeous idea!
    Thanks for linking up to #coolmumclub

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

