Do Christmas Crafts -Tick!

Merry Christmas everyone! I hope it was fantastic for you. As you may have noticed, I decided to take a break from blogging over the Christmas period. It’s such a special time, probably the only time that all your family and friends are all off work and school together. So I really wanted to make the most of it and appreciate it, which I did, it was utterly wonderful! Now that the festivities are beginning to wind down, I thought I’d head back to my blog and update you all on how we got on with our Christmas Bucket List.

Every year I spend hours traipsing the Internet for fantastic Christmas crafts that are suitable for a four year old (3,2,1 year old in past years) and this year was no different. I wanted something easy enough for Banana to do independently and effectively, but also something special and something that would keep her occupied for more than 5 minutes. I was actually really struggling to find the perfect craft activity when she strolled back from my in laws last weekend with CBeebies magazine. The freebie was some festive clay modelling! Bingo! Funny how things turn up in the most unlikely places… I usually think magazine freebies are a bit naff, but this was just perfect!

image

The kit consisted of three separate packets of clay in red, brown and white as well as cardboard and plastic accessories to make the perfect Santa, Reindeer and Snowman. The clay was the strangest consistency, which made sense later, as when the models had dried, the clay had turned into a sort of hardened foam material, it’s like nothing I’ve ever used before. (Please leave me a comment if you know what I’m describing!)

imageimageimage

We really enjoyed this craft activity. It kept Banana occupied for about 45 mins. She was able to do most of it independently, only needing help with the reindeer’s antlers and it was wonderfully festive. At the end, we had some lovely little festive characters to display on the shelf in our playroom.

imageimageimageimage

Well done CBeebies mag! I definitely need to get some of this stuff for my craft box!

Click to see the rest of our Christmas Bucket List 2016

One thought on “Do Christmas Crafts -Tick!

Leave a Reply

